The Swim Suit

August 29, 2006

Even if summer is almost over this year, it never ever ends in Florida.

I see this project as a challenge and as a beginning, because I am definitely going to sew more swim wear from now on. This is not really the first bra i have ever sewn, but it is the first one with lining and cups.

The Fabric

I have found nice lycra fabric at www.fabric.com, just perfect for swim suits and summer beach dresses. I have bought the turquoise and the brown.

Nylon Lycra Swimwear Fabric Paisley Floral Turquoise
For lining I have used a smooth thin, comfortable white lycra. Why use lining? Wet the fabric that you choose for a swim suit, then stretch it and see if you can see through.

I have also used sew-in bra cups and fold elastic.

The pattern

La Mia Boutique, issued in July 2005 (Italian pattern magazine).

Excellent pattern! Really well fitted bikinis, no adjustments had to be made.

Here it is!

As a next project I will make a nice strap dress, or a alter dress over the swim suit.

See you on Hollywood Beach, Florida!

3 Responses to “The Swim Suit”

  1. Yvonne Says:

    Can you tell me where you purchased this pattern book? I can’t seem to find anything about them on the net. You may email me privately. Thanks

  2. mirelap Says:

    La Mia Boutique is an Italian pattern magazine, most of the online subscriptions are for Italy, Germany, Hungary, Chzech Republic.

    It is issued once a month and in Italy one issue costs around 4 Euros.

    Here it is world wide:
    World Wide
    The name of the magazine is right, the picture is not. I suggest you write to them first.

    Amazon.de subscription

    I have also found some distributors in Brazil:
    Brazil Distributors

    In Hungary

    My mother buys for me from Romania, printed in Italian.

  3. Mojca Says:

    This looks great!!! What type of sewing machine do you use, becouse stiches look professional?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

