Red and White Blouse

January 9, 2007

I have loved this kind of blouse ever since I was a little girl. I think it is a classic piece that will never go out of style.
It all depends on what it is worn with. A larger top, tighter bottoms, or the other way around, but never together.


I also did this as a sew along idea I found on craftster.

Again I used one of my favorite findings in fabrics, in the little cramped up and dusty Italian fabric store in my home town (Cluj Napoca, Romania). It is a soft and lightweight cotton jersey, in a red and white print with flowers and leaves pattern.

After a while of twisting two patterns (One from Burda another from Boutique) around on it I finally got the fabric pattern to align the same way in the front and back of the blouse, without cuts…

I guess a blouse like this needs no pattern, but then again, I’m too lazy to take measurements so it is quicker for me to copy a pattern out and see how it can be adapted on the material. Twice as much fabric goes into this than in a normal blouse. Two lengths are needed.

So the under arms are sewn first, then the top seam of the arms, up until the neckline.

You end up with a blouse with no finished edges.

I used a narrow cover-stitch for tidy hemming.

I like to wear it either with these red coral necklace, bracelet and earrings I have woven a while ago,


or with this white mother of pearl necklace I have made on curly wire:


I wore this the next day at work and felt as comfortable as in my pajamas, but a lot more casual of course.




I will definitely do this again in black and other colors, maybe even with short sleeves.
Like it?

8 Responses to “Red and White Blouse”

  1. Sanjaa Says:

    I saw this link on Crafter. I love, love, love that shirt. It seems very comfortable and versatile. You should definitelly make more in different colours. I am jealous that I cannot find fabric like that:(.

  2. Mirela Says:

    Thank you!
    Yes, I usually have my mother ship these fabrics to me.
    Another good source I use is
    Fashion Fabrics Club
    They have an amazing selection of… everything.

  3. Marleen Says:

    HMMMMMMM!! This sounds wonderful! And I envy your access to wonderful fabrics like that, I miss my time in italy :-) do you know how to get hold of old copies of La Mia Boutique? I’m addicted to them and they’re hard to come by!! Any help is appreciated :-) good luck with your other projects :-)

  4. Mirela Says:

    Wel…my access to those fabrics is limitted to two weeks during summer time, when I get to visit back home…I have my dear mom send my La Mia Boutique and fabrics from time to time, from Romania, where she can still find that magazine at news stands.

    After searching every result page from google:
    Here it is world wide:
    World Wide
    The name of the magazine is right, the picture is not. I suggest you write to them first.

    Amazon.de subscription

    I have also found some distributors in Brazil:
    Brazil Distributors

    In Hungary

  5. Katrin7 Says:

    Hello Mirela,

    I just found your blog today and it is wonderful.
    You make really great clothes!

    Regards,
    Katrin

  6. Nouvelle Says:

    I’m impressed! I found your blog through burdastyle, and I love your sewing! I like to sew for myself too, in cute styles. I think the benefit of sewing for yourself is the uniqueness, and the fit!

  7. Christine Says:

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful shirt!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

