Knit how neat!

July 13, 2007

I had to do some knitting for a class I took in school. I made a top I might still have in a closet back home. Passing that class meant finishing a project during the trimester and that is almost how long it took to “finish” the top. Of course my mom helped me out with speeding things up. My knitting was uneven and this made my mom’s job harder as she tried to imitate my clumsy work, so the teacher would not notice. I passed of course! Now I wonder if that top would still fit me!?I liked knitting, but mostly the knitting that my mother did. I was not really thrilled about my work. It was uneven and took forever to finish. When sewing it is possible to finish a project in a matter of hours. As a seamstress I was sometimes thinking: “Oh! how many things I could have sewn instead!”. But soon I was in the mood again and realized knitting takes time and patience to create pretty useful things out of plain yarn. You create the fabric out of yarn, already shaped and sized conforming to a pattern or just your imagination. Yarn is the medium and you are the sculptor.Many special thanks to my husband Marius who listened to my wishes and gave me the best present ever!

It made me realize that I do love to knit after all, since speed is not an obstacle any more. The bond ultimate sweater machine is not as automated as I would like, basic and simple to use. My mother has a similar wooden knitting machine that I cannot wait to see again when I get to Romania. I remember my mom did not use it that often as it had no instructions and doing lace stitches is time consuming. Maybe sharing Bond’s knowledge with the capabilities of the wood version will be useful :)Burda has these incredible patterns for knitting and crochet in the latest magazines. I’m familiar with Burda patterns for sewing, but with knitting and crochet it is like learning two different languages. First I went through the process of understanding some of the stitch types, than knowing the abbreviations for them, then the symbols in the charts.I strongly recommend The Complete Encyclopedia of Stitchery for anyone who is considering learning to crochet or knit. This book has it all from tatting to crochet to macrame, knit, rugs, embroidery. Seams that you can read it online from Google Books, just follow the link above.

For crochet NexStitch has these amazing videos and expanations on all stitches you can imagine and wonderful patterns she creates.

The other day me and my colleague Oana were reading a German Knitting and Crochet magazine ModisheMache, from 1990, trying to understand what all the signs in charts mean. I’ll learn these languages someday slowly but surely.

Although the Bond machine comes with a very “vintage” patterns book and they instruct you to knit those patterns first, the yarn is too expensive to waist, so I went in another direction and decided to give this top a try (in red yarn):


If it turnes out nice, I’ll give this one a try:

I would love to be able to crochet these, but I think going over the learning curve for crochet will take longer then expected, even with all the information out there, it needs practice :)

and the red wrap from Burda May issue.

Hats off for knitters and crocheters! This is not as easy as it seams!

I’ll post back pictures with the progress of the red top 140!

5 Responses to “Knit how neat!”

  1. Tany Says:

    I’m knitting that Burda top too (mine will be in white and I’ll use linen yarn)! Great post, thank you!

  2. Tany Says:

    Hi again Mirela!
    I’m currently with no Internet access at home (I’m at a fried’s place). Email me if you can’t get the Phildar Mag from the http://www.phildar.fr site; I can scan a few pages from my magazine and email them back to you (as soon as I get my laptop fixed)


  3. Wow Mirela, I’m really interested to hear how you like machine knitting!! Also, don’t be too put off by first attempts … I remember my ‘square’ doll’s shawl turned out triangular ;)

  4. Mirela Says:

    Oh Tany, I’ve tried every link they have on http://www.phildar.fr and in the English version of the site also with no success. Sorry to hear about the laptop issue. I’d be forever grateful for a few scanned pages, those tops are really something hard to find! I can’t wait to see your top! Know a not so expensive source of yarns?

    Red_Swirl, I’m loving the machine!

    I have finished my top yesterday! The machine is excellent for simple stitches, the designs take a little longer, so I only did a few rows of lace.
    I’m preparing a post about the top :)

  5. Tany Says:

    Hi Mirela, my email is tany0471@sapo.pt; send me an email so I can send you the scanned pages. Please tell me which models you like ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

