Crochet Flower Dress

July 17, 2007

Crochet Flower Dress, originally uploaded by fmirela.
Crochet Flower Dress

The idea behind this dress is combining the old art of hand created fabrics and the new into a dress to be treasured by a sophisticated woman.

Inspiration came from a friend of mine who does crochet. Thanks Danny! She sent me her delicate work and my task was to combine the crocheted bustier with fabric and make an elegant evening dress. I tried to create something interesting and unusual, without being too overwhelming, while keeping the beautiful crochet in the center of attention. A bee shape is accentuated by the pleated corset and petals of fabric folds created as the pleats open up near the waist line. Silk yarn for the crochet bustier and silk shantung or taffeta, with firm and crisp weight fabric is suggested to hold the sculptured design lines.

I’m going to start working on creating something similar (I hope) for Danny, I’ve found the almost perfect red silk (could not find the blue version so…red will do).

Thanks to Burda Style and this competition I have found a new hobby: fashion drawing. Even if I’m far from being good at it, I can see how this can help with the design decisions. Also it’s a good way to stay focused on what I’d like to create someday.

Burda Style’s design competition is over and they will be anoncing the winner soon!

I can’t wait to see the results and what everyone has made!

Good luck to all the talented designers!

This is my submission and here are a few other fashion illustrations I’ve made and please feel free to tell what you think!

6 Responses to “Crochet Flower Dress”

  1. dawn Says:

    Wow! It will be breathtaking!

  2. Mirela Says:

    If I can pull it off :) it would be my second try at something without a pattern…

  3. stacy Says:

    I love the dress you submitted! I also loved the jackets you created and the V-neck blouse. Now if you could come up with some patterns for me to make these designs… LOL :)

  4. Mirela Says:

    Oh! If I could do everything I can imagine! :D drawing was easy…

  5. Tany Says:

    Beautiful! I can’t wait to see it come to life! It will be something to behold!


  6. Looks very vintage.mmmm…. I like it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

