My 3 in 1 Pattern Wrap Shirts

August 24, 2007

Wrap shirts

Wrap shirts, originally uploaded by fmirela.

Wrap-around blouses are a must in the summer.
An uncomplicated wrapped blouse with no fastening – just tie it place!
The wrapped blouse is fashionably cropped and creates a lovely, feminine shape.

I had this eyelet embroidered and paisley printed fabric in my stash for quite some time. I knew it was going to be a shirt of some sort for the office, something casual.

Embroidered Wrap Shirt
Embroidered Wrap Shirt

Thank you Alina for the inspiration with this pattern. I have managed to reduce my stack of fabrics by three and fill the hangers!

With the fresh knowledge about the pattern, I’m was sewing mine faster then ever. I’ve cut it in less then an hour, then quickly pinned the seams as I already knew their order. I like pinning my pieces while they are still fresh cut and lying flat on the table.
Another half an hour was reserved for sewing all the front, back, under sleeve and shoulders seams. All I had to do is set in the collar, sleeves and sew the hems.
I love fast projects with happy endings!

A great source for linen and cotton is where I got this gorgeous fabric
Wrap Shirt Bold Print
is fabrics-store.com
Wrap Shirt Bold Print
Wrap Shirt Bold Print
I just had to buy the same print in blue and will probably transform it into a dress.

Every time I visit the JoAnn store I can’t help myself with getting just a little bit of fabric. This time it was this colorful cotton for a shirt. A little Christmas-sy so I added an off white ribbon, instead of the red satin like for the presents.

Wrap Shirt
Wrap Shirt

11 Responses to “My 3 in 1 Pattern Wrap Shirts”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    Very very cute! Love the tops AND the fabric!

  2. stacy Says:

    I love the tops! Thanks for the new fabric store to browse – I’ve never heard of Fabric-store.com, but I’m off to check it out.

  3. lakaribane Says:

    Thanks so much for posting the pix. I have that Burda and I’ve been going back and forth over sewing it or not. Now that I can really *sew* the model, and in coton, I’m definitely pushing it up on my to-sew list.

    They all look great! Congratulations

  4. Tany Says:

    Again, terrific job! Love all three of them, and your fabrics are TDF!

  5. Myam Says:

    So I’m not sure which is more beautiful, your tops or the way your hair twirled…

    The fabrics are pretty.

  6. Mirela Says:

    Thank you ladies!

    Stacy: you are welcome!

    lakaribane: make sure you lengthen the pattern and add more fabric at the neck line in front. Otherwise the band at the collar is a little tricky. I’ll post my workaround with a ribbon soon.

  7. Becky Says:

    The fabric selection is great, as always, and very flattering top.

  8. Jennifer Fraunfelder SouthernBabies Says:

    where did you find the pattern for these tops? they are quite flattering. You did an amazing job.

  9. mirela Says:

    The pattern is from Burda World Of Fashion 06/2006. See my previous post, there is a link to the magazine.

  10. Lauren Dillon Says:

    I’ve been searching for a while for the perfect wraparound shirt and this is exactly what I want. I’ve never sewn with a Burda pattern, however. How does it compare to Butterick, Simplicity, et al? Your feedback is very appreciated.

    Lauren

    • mirela Says:

      Hello Lauren,

      Burda patterns are the best! well…I have been using them all my life and haven’t sewn any Butterick, Simplicity or anything other then Burda and Italian La Mia Boutique. I subscribe to the Burda World of Fashion Magazine, it is a monthly magazine with about 40 patterns in each issue. You can subscribe online at http://www.glpnews.com/EN/Crafts/Burda1.html
      for 80$ per year. You can also find some patterns at the local JoAnns store from the catalogue, or maybe even buy online from BurdaFashion website. Past issues are hard to come by, and the patterns they sell through the catalogs are different.
      A wrap shirt you can find for cheaps in the meantime at BurdaStyle: http://www.burdastyle.com/patterns/show/654

      Hope this helps and that you will enjoy Burda patterns!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

