Big Blue Riding Hood

May 5, 2008

Faux Fur, originally uploaded by fmirela.

I had the change to wear my faux fur winter coat this year again after a long long break, during my so called one week vacation in February to Romania. The photo is taken next to Dragan Dam, only it was very way too windy and snowy to see much…

I’ll have the change to revisit again soon, on May 23rd :) Cannot wait.

I’m also going to be on a quest for special fabric finds in Tel Aviv Israel.

I have sewn this a long time ago, back to the times when I still needed something warm (2003, Romania). It is lined with a windproof, waterproof black micro-fleece. Both fabrics are from Italy.
I added elastic loops and long buttons as closures, and made two in seam side pockets for warmth.
Careful when working with fabrics with such a high pile, it will really make you sneeze all the time. The trick is to leave the scissors alone, and use a cutter instead, cut from the underside avoid cutting the pile.
Trim the pile only where you want to reduce the bulk.
In case you catch the pile inside the seam, use a needle to get the hairs out.

4 Responses to “Big Blue Riding Hood”

  1. Maja Says:

    Mirela,I like the color and the pattern.It is from Burda moden isn’t it?-from 1998 I think and it was red in the magazine…I was a great fan of this pattern and I must say it is beautiful on you!Kiss!

  2. lashell Says:

    Cute. It looks like it was the weather for that jacket. You look really warm

  3. Mirela Says:

    Thanks!

    Maja, I cannot say for sure, I know it was Burda, don;t know the year…I have the pattern back in Romania, but I think you are right…it was a dark brick red if I recall…

  4. Tany Says:

    Beautiful! I’m really into this shade of blue right now!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

