Labels

May 6, 2008

Here’s what I need to try as soon as I get my hands on some ribbons, embroidery thread, adhesive stabilizer and my sewing machine…that is after I finish washing a s%$ load of clothes and the dishes…not to mention cooking some lunch for tomorrow and sewing the buttonholes, buttons on my last JJ shirt!

Have a look at this super dooper cool tutorial on making embroidery labels:

http://www.craftstylish.com/item/596/embroider-your-own-label

While I’m at it, I might also get some transfer paper and try to see how that works…

http://www.burdastyle.com/howtos/show/460

or maybe even create a cardboard cutout and use fabric spray paint…

How are you making your labels?

5 Responses to “Labels”

  1. adrienne Says:

    I have never made my own labels but this looks very interesting!

  2. erica b. Says:

    That’s neat… I may try this later today.

  3. peacockchic Says:

    Cool!! Actually I JUST bought come from Fancyweaver (250 for $35.00) and they came out really great!! But for the personalized ones I will have to try out these techniques

  4. Cafe Couture Says:

    Hello, I was looking for tutorials on making labels too, but finally this is so time consumming and the result not always satisfactory unless you’re well equipped! Just discovered your blog (scrolling Geri’s blog list), you have made some awsome gaments, but most of all I am impressed by the quality of your photos. Whats camera are you using? Any special light?

  5. Mirela Says:

    peacockchic: Thanks! That doesn’t sound like a bad price at all! Even with the machine still makes me thinking of getting some, 250?! I’ll never embroider that many and yours look really awesome!

    Cafe Couture: Thanks and I think for labels I’ll also go the peacockchic’s source as well and keep the embroidery for more special projects.
    My husband is really into photography right now as a hobby, he’s equipped himself with a Nikon D80 and some special lens. As far as light goes, we tried all sort of flashes, but finally the natural morning light that comes through my window seems to be the best. You can view more of his work on this flickr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mariusp
    I use a Panasonic Lumix for some shots that Marius doesn’t want to take and one of those economic light bulbs…
    I really like your creations, especially that raglan jacket. Which pattern did you use?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

