Silk Slip

September 9, 2008

Silk Slip, originally uploaded by fmirela.

Remember…http://mirelap.wordpress.com/2008/04/04/silk-slip-knitting-lingerie-style/?

It is the silk slip from Knitting Lingerie Style! I finished it a long time ago and finally got the pictures too. actually made two since.

Silk Slip

It’s a great way to use your last shin of leftover yarn! The cleavage is kind of revealing and I didn’t follow through all the instructions in the pattern, really had to make the cups larger (maybe because of the yarn), also one should be careful with the lace placement, those holes in the knit might end up where you don’t want them. So instead of knitting 4 repeats of the lace pattern, I’ve only made 3 but after knitting some more simple lines. I also used a how to from BurdaStyle for sewing the darts: http://www.burdastyle.com/howtos/show/867
I’ve made a narrow rolled hem at the bottom and it has hooks and eyes in the back slit for closure.

9 Responses to “Silk Slip”

  1. oonaballoona Says:

    very cool to see how those curved darts turn out… and i’m loving this yellow phase :) tho i guess this was pre-canary?

    by the way, did you see your feature is up in the german version of BWOF? melissa has a pic of it at fehr trade. congratulations!

  2. mirela Says:

    :) Thank you! Yes, I just received my complimentary copy of the magazine, so proud and excited :D really cool to be side by side with Melissa!

  3. Amie Says:

    Super cute! I did a double-take at the first picture because it’s the exact same yarn I used for one of my bikini patterns. I’d never thought of adding fabric to the bottom, then again, me and a sewing machine don’t mix well (but I wish we did!).

  4. Teodora Says:

    well, I do read a lot your blog, because I like it! ;)) full of great ideeas and a great interpretation…..Today I found this :

    http://www.breslo.ro/Proiect-2/breslo-product/4672.html

    and I was asking myself if this is your firm from Romania ( ??)
    Is good to know…
    whishing you well,
    Teodora.

  5. Mirela Says:

    Thank you everyone!

    Teodora, the yellow top is a collaboration with a friend of mine from Timisoara, Romania. She did the crochet part, I did the sewing :) Dana is very talented at crochet and knitted stuff, she really has that modern sexy nowadays take on such an ancient craft. Darsy Design is her firm. We are trying to sell this as a concept and if any orders come, she does the crochet and I the sewing. Thanks for the link, I didn’t know about Breslo, seems like the Etsy version for Romania.
    Are you from Romania? :)

  6. Teodora Says:

    Yes, I am from Romania. Sometimes I wish not :).
    I’m glad to hear about your friendship with Dana, please do not understand wrong my intervention but when I did see your face ( for me so familiar) on breslo in Romania (!!) in someone’e else shop I became …hmmm..let it be. It’s ok that everything is ok. I must admit that I really like Dana’s crochet style, not for everybody but for “connaisseurs”.
    Oh, and hmmm…, I’d like to consider someday that breslo is somehow like etsy…still a long way to go.
    Have a starry night tonight! ;))
    Teodora.

    http://tiktakro.blogspot.com/

  7. Mirela Says:

    :) Salut Teodora! mersi de link la blogul tau, m-am uitat si imi place grozav tot ce faci. N-as avea rabdarea ta asa ca apreciez muult munca ta meticuloasa. Setul portocaliu e grozav de tot! Ce sa mai zic de placinte si poze cu iarna…mi-e asa de doooor!

    I really wish I was in Romania, all the time!

    Pupici, Mirela

  8. Teodora Says:

    He-he…munca mea migaloasa ???! atunci a ta cum e? tu ai talent si finetze pentru ce faci. Te admir…
    Se pare ca de-acum inainte ne vom “citi” reciproc ;))
    Pupici si tie .
    P.S. Mi-ar face placere sa iti fac un set portocaliu ( cu toate ca nu stiu la care exact te referi, poate-mi spui) si sa ti-l expediez. Asa ca de “acasa” :)) Poti sa-mi scrii pe mail tiktakro@yahoo.com.
    Paa.


  9. I love your crochet and silk slips. They are gorgeous and I would love to order a couple and highlight them on my blog. Let me know what colors can be ordered, please.

    best wishes,
    Delany


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

