Lacy Days!

March 6, 2007

Lacy Days!

I have discovered my kind shop in downtown Hollywood. The fabrics are a bit outdated, or vintage one might say…It is stuffed and nicely cluttered with everything, all the trims in the world and beyond that, lace! Stretch lace, colored lace, lace everywhere.

Ben Raymond Fabrics and Trimmings is a museum of lace.

Their moto is: “If we don’t have, you don’t need it!“.

Sometimes I get discounts, sometimes I think the online stores are cheaper, but including the shipping charges…It’s convenient to be able to buy it and use it today, rather then wait a couple of weeks for the package to arrive from who knows where.

Burda and Boutique patterns are my favorites and this time they worked together for me for this lingerie set. The top bustier pattern is taken from Burda and originally was a bra, but I liked the way the wide lace fits around the under-bra. The boy shorts are made after a Boutique swim suit pattern.

The cutting and assembly process:




These items have been sold on Etsy to a happy customer.

2 Responses to “Lacy Days!”

  1. Becky Says:

    I must say, it’s quite gutsy of you to take the underwear route! That’s one of the things I’ve never attempted, though I’ve been tempted to try since it’s hard to find bras I like. So massive kudos to you. (They look great, btw.)

    And thanks for the link. 🙂

  2. Amy Says:

    I buy most of my stuff online, too, but it’s so nice to go into a store with pretty things and be able to see and touch everything. I like doing that even if I know I’m not going to buy anything!


Leave a Reply

