Red Denim Dress – Wearable!

May 24, 2007

Red Denim Dress, originally uploaded by fmirela.

Finally I have pictures with the red denim dress!

Red Denim Dress
Side view:
Red Denim Dress

The pattern is from La Mia Boutique, and although it is made out of 10s of pieces and I do not understand Italian, it was fairly easy to assemble, but required a lot of time.
Every stitch has been iron pressed and I added two parallel top-stitches in bright red thread to finish the denim feel for this dress.
I love wearing this at work, I think it is great for summer, being sleeveless and it also can be worn maybe with boots and a form fitting long sleeve blouse under during cooler temps.

I always buy a little extra fabric especially when there are bias pieces, somehow I cannot compute how much I need.
This time I managed to sew a mini skirt, a hat and a belt out of the leftovers! Tonight I am hemming the skirt and I can;t wait to post about it. The hat and belt are still in the making.

I have taken many photos of the sewing process, and I plan on posting small how tos about darts, jeans pockets, shirt collars…soon.

Keep looking!

4 Responses to “Red Denim Dress – Wearable!”

  1. Claudia Says:

    Wow, that is gorgeous!!!!! It looks fabulous on you!

  2. Helen Says:

    Wow – this is a beautiful dress and your photos look gorgeous. Thanks for linking to my blog – it meant I could find yours!

  3. Karen Says:

    Your dress is wonderful! So pretty!

    I am trying to teach myself to sew and your blog is so motivating!

  4. Mirela Says:

    Thanks everyone!

    Karen, I could not have learn to sew without Burda!
    Go to BurdaStyle.com and download their free patterns and instructions. They describe the process step by step, with picutres. I think you’ll find those instructions very useful!

    Keep sewing!


Leave a Reply

