Mirela & Dummy

October 9, 2007

Mirela, originally uploaded by mariuspopovici.

I left my darling duct tape dress form behind.. Sad

I (and my husband) wanted one that would look good in the room. Plus I have lost some weight (Happy!) since I was all wrapped around in duct tape. So I went ahead and bought one, which I like a lot, just wish her butt was a little bigger…It was around 70-80$ including shipping (I had cost me 30$ for duct tape and stuffing on the duct tape version).

It is easier to work with since it is on a stand and the height can be adjusted, it is very easy to pin and leaves no glue on my needles. It is very lightweight, yet the stand it stable.

If you are thinking of buying one or wish to make a dress form and need a stand, maybe this link will be useful:

Jersey Dress forms and stands from ROX STUDIO

I have searched the internet forever to find a good price. The shipping was fast too, I’m very glad now I got the dress form.

The picture shows a sneak peek into my current work. Stay tuned!

Also, I have more up my sleeve:
I’m almost ready with the Wrapped Red Crochet Jacket from Burda’s May 2007 issue.
I have finished the back of a simple crochet top in denim blue.

Thank you Marius for the professional picture, for driving me to work and back so I can crochet one more round on the way!

4 Responses to “Mirela & Dummy”

  1. Myam Says:

    I need one but I’m such a scaredy cat. I don’t want any human-figure-thingy in my room because the shadows it creates might spook me in the middle of the night. And yeah, I sew in my room. Oh well.

  2. Mirela Says:

    I know what you mean, it took me a few days of getting used to it 🙂 It is really lightweight, so you could store it in the closet and get it out only when you work with it.

    BTW I love your purses! Wish I had patience to make something like that.

  3. Christa Says:

    Hi I just came across your blog and love it! You truly are inspiring and so very talented!

    I am wondering about the dress form and which one you got. I would love to purchase one as it is very affordable. Is this the hard foam one and if so can you pin it for draping purposes?

    Looking forward to your response!
    Christa

  4. LeX Says:

    Being a beginner I knew I needed to find something simple, affordable and had longevity. I did my research and decided to get myself a fabulous fit dress form. I am able to pin my form, customize it to my shape and size with their patented fitting system (which was FREE) I’ve had my dress form for about a year now and I LOVE IT!

    P.S. I sew in my room too & yes, it take some getting used to having this thing in your room =)


Leave a Reply

