Hooked on Blue Traditions

October 14, 2007

Mirela, originally uploaded by mariuspopovici.

Pattern: Phildar
Yarn:
700y / 640m
DMC Traditions 100% Crochet Cotton
(for 6-8 US / 1.5-1.7 EU.)
Crochet Hook: 2.1mm
Time: 1 week
(20 minutes in the mornings and whole evenings)

I have learned to crochet, first in English, now in French!
Thank you Tany for the patterns and thanks for the internet, as I had to do a little translating and a lot of google-ing to get this done.
Needless to say, I could not have done it without those precious videos from nexstitch.com.

Last Saturday I was at Walmart for a 1 hour shopping until Marius’s photos were being processed. Obviously half the time I was in the sewing isle deciding what thread to buy. You know! is it too little, is it too much, does it cost a fortune? should I get green? I like the blue, oh that lilac is so pretty! Off…just two of these denim blue balls were left, I grabbed them and crossed my fingers hoping it would be sufficient. It was!

Since last Saturday this is what I have been doing in the car to/from work (Marius was doing the driving of course!) and every night: a whole week of looping yarn around.

Here is the top from Phildar ( I added two more straps that tie over the shoulders and made it just a little longer by adding 2 rows of 4 treble stitches in every fourth stitch).

All I need now is to learn how to crochet from Russian patterns, as there are gorgeous cheap Russian knitting and crochet magazines around here.
Oh and in Romanian too…that’s different also.
I wish besides the motif charts there was a universal language for crochet. Or is there?!

5 Responses to “Hooked on Blue Traditions”

  1. adrienne Says:

    OH WOW! This is beautiful! And I just love that color!

  2. Becky Says:

    I love the neckline on that. Almost makes me want to attempt crochet again. Almost.😉

  3. Tany Says:

    Simply fabulous!! I love it!!

  4. melissa Says:

    omg that is just gorgeous! That neckline is to die for…

  5. LauraLo Says:

    Amazing, I love it! Too bad I don’t crochet arrghh


Leave a Reply

