Off the Hook

October 19, 2007

P1080271

I have finished the Crochet Wrap Jacket from Burda WOF May 2007!

I have started this two months ago, when my sewing machines were packed in boxes as we were moving. I did crochet the blue top in the meanwhile and started to work on the red dress.
This is the first crochet pattern with motif schemas I have ever attempted and it took me a few hours to understand the instructions. I have crochet before simple stitches, but this time I crochet, unwrapped and started over a few times before I finally got it.

I have chosen Katia Jet ribbon yarn for this and have to say it was NOT a good choice at all. I would never use that yarn for crochet again, I think knitting would be a much better choice for it.
The whole jacket eat up 13 balls of 50g of Katia Jet so it is heavy.
This yarn has a very matte look and something shinier and with some drape would be better.

At first I used a plastic crochet hook size F, that I manage to break after a while🙂 lol. wrapped some tape to keep it together until I found another hook🙂

I realize now that the instructions for this were in fact very detailed and easy to follow in the end.

One morning this week I thought of wearing this to the office, hesitated and decided that it is better suited for more special occasions and too sophisticated for work.

Keep looking, I’ll have Marius take a picture of me.

6 Responses to “Off the Hook”

  1. adrienne Says:

    That is beautiful! I can’t wait to see a picture of it modeled!

  2. lakaribane Says:

    Hi! I’m going to Fl next month on vacation and I’m also interested making this jacket. I wanted to know which other yarn you’d suggest, since the experience with the Katia wasn’t the best. Thanks for any help you can give me.

  3. Mirela Says:

    Lakaribane,

    I’m still new to yarns myself, I cant really pin point one that would be good.

    This is the advice I got when I thought of making the jacket, but did not manage to follow it myself…

    “using a more “lightweight! yarn, like cotton/acrylic blend and perhaps a 4mm-4.5mm needle, you should make a swatch with the basic stitch for the back before you decide which is best.”

    I’d say something lighter then Katia, not a ribbon yarn, something with more sheen and drape.
    I have received this one from Elann, have not used it yet, but like it a lot, I think it would be a better choice than Katia, but I’m not sure if this is the best choice out there…I hope this would not be too soft for a jacket…

    http://elann.com/productdisp.asp?NAME=elann%2Ecom+Endless+Summer+Luna&Season=&Company=&Cat=Bargains&ProductType=5&OrderBy=+Order+By+Bargain+Desc&Count=56

    but then again, I’m new to this and still have trouble myself finding the right yarns…

    Happy yarn shopping and happy holiday in Fl!

  4. lakaribane Says:

    Thanks for the suggested thread. I’m traveling with the explanations and hopefully will find something nice. I”ll let you know how it works out!

  5. Jill Says:

    I just found your blog today and instantly fell in love with your wrap around jacket. I’ve searched all over for the pattern and can’t find it. Do you by chance still have it? I’d love ot get a copy and make myself something besides scarves and afghans.
    I can’t wait to read more of your blog.

  6. Sol Says:

    Hello Mirela! I was wondering if you have the pattern for the wrap jacket by any chance?? I would love to make it and I have been looking for the Burda’s back issue without any luck. Thanks!
    Sol


Leave a Reply

