Christmas Tree and Endless Summer Luna Top

January 3, 2008
Christmas Tree, originally uploaded by fmirela.

Yarn: Endless Summer Luna from Elann – 4 balls
Pattern: Honeymoon Cami
Key plate No. 1 on the Bond Ultimate Sweater Machine

I have made plenty of changes to the pattern:

Instead of doing the ribbed edge I replaced it with a scalloped border inspired by Heidi’s machine knitting charts.

The V neck with this yarn and gauge is too deep, so it ended up in the back of my top. I redid the front the same way as the back, but I had started decreasing the front V and splitting the work only after I had decreased for the armholes.

Detail - Mother of pearls straps
For the straps I’ve used square mother of pearl beads that I had crochet together using a stitch similar to the hair pin lace crochet.

To finish it I’ve made a row of simple crochet stitches around the neckline and armholes.

I am still having issues with my gauge and the Bond. The top is a little larger and longer then I had wanted.

I enjoyed seeing the scallops take form immediately after I removed the work from the machine.

I love this yarn, it is very shiny, smooth and comfortable even for hot weather.

I wish you all a creative, productive, healthy and Happy New Year!
May all your wishes come true in 2008!

P.S. Thank you BurdaStyle for the amazing tassel!

5 Responses to “Christmas Tree and Endless Summer Luna Top”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    Very cute top!!!!

  2. Pamie G. Says:

    Wow…..you are amazing — I so admired your talents. I am just about to venture into the knitting world — I had one quick lesson and laid my head down on the table and cried….I so hope this is attainable….if not for anything, to make my 3 year old granddaughter some cute socks! Kudos to you and your talents! Thank you for sharing them with us “bloggers”!

  3. LauraLo Says:

    Happy New Year, Mirela! What a beautiful, beautiful top!

  4. lashell Says:

    Now I’m going to have to break out my Bond. I love your top. Such a pretty color.

  5. Mirela Says:

    Thank you all!

    Pamie, don’t give up on knitting, you will love it and it’s addictive once you get the hang of it. I have never done socks and working with all those needles at one time seems complicated, maybe you should start with something simpler like a hat and then give the socks a try, just keep trying!

    I remember my own struggle to understand and read the crochet patterns and I can’t recall how many times I unraveled the work before I finally got it right!

    Lashell your work is so beautiful, both sewing and knitting. That last jacket you did is flawless! Rusted Root is going to be awesome!


Leave a Reply

