Sew the Eva Dart

February 6, 2008
P1100551, originally uploaded by fmirela.

BurdaStyle’s Eva jacket has this interesting bust dart that is really simple to do in two steps.
I do trace the lines on the wrong side of my fabric with a special pencil…no time to make marks by hand…

A little tip before you begin: you can iron on a small square of fusible interfacing on the intersection of the darts. This way you do not have to worry about the fabric threads jumping out of the seam when you notch the allowances of the smaller dart.

I’m going to cite BurdaStyle’s instructions and associate pictures of the process. Here we go:

At the front pieces, the darts in the center between the marked lines have to be cut in up to 1 inch (2 cm) before the pointy end. Notice that I did cut too deep and this gave me a little headache. Do not cut all the way!
P1100552

Pin the upper cross edges of the darts on top of each other, the right sides facing,
P1100557

View from one side when upper dart is pinned:
P1100556

View from other side:
P1100555

stitch from the corner to the pointy end.
P1100558

Notch the allowances at the corner.
P1100559
just that I cut too deep the first time into the long dart, I repeat: cut only up to 1 inch (2 cm) before the pointy end.

Pin the allowances from the edge downwards and stitch.
P1100560

Press the allowances of the long seams towards to center; press the allowances of the short seams downward. Stitch the dart allowances using a zigzag stitch, 4 mm wide.
P1100561

Here is the result for the first Eva jacket I did. Here I did not cut as deep into the dart:
P1100562

Enjoy!

P.S. you guessed it!

I’m sewing another Eva again like I promised.

It is almost ready so a new post coming soon!

It has a cute matching skirt, you’ll see!

6 Responses to “Sew the Eva Dart”

  1. adrienne Says:

    Lovely!! I love that fabric!!!!

  2. Mirela Says:

    Thank you! I found it at JoAnns and now there are piles of it sitting in the Red Tag isle so it’s on sale🙂

  3. dawn Says:

    Interesting, I havent’ seen a dart like that before. I’m trying to wrap my mind around how one would draft that and it’s not working!

  4. Mirela Says:

    Hmmm…I wish I knew how to make patterns


  5. This is the first time I comment here and I should say you give us genuine, and quality information for bloggers! Great job.
    p.s. You have a very good template for your blog. Where did you find it?


Leave a Reply

