Broomstick Lace Crochet

March 19, 2008

My samples of the Broomstick Lace Crochet.

Yarn: DMC Senso Metallics)
Crochet Hook: 3.25mm
Knitting Needles: 19 and 10

Broomstick Lace Crochet

Yarn: Elann Pegasus Worsted / 10 ply (9 wpi)
Crochet Hook: 3.25mm
Knitting Needles: 19 and 10
Broomstick Lace Crochet

This really is a quick crochet with pretty results. I’ll probably start another one of those over-the-top crochet tops🙂

12 Responses to “Broomstick Lace Crochet”

  1. oonaballoona Says:

    SO cool! i can see a new obsession in my future… don;t know if i’d get your beautiful results, but i think i’d be happy just looking at those huge orange sticks🙂

    and so glad i get to see your blog… wish we could just put a list up at burda.

  2. Crochet Diva Says:

    I made a headband using this broomstick lace recently. I’m wondering what you are using the knitting needle for? Is that to hold the loops at a certain size? I have no experience with knitting, but if so that would make perfect sense. I didn’t use anything to hold the loops and thought how wonderful it would be to have something to hold them to size. I will definitely be purchasing knitting needles for this, if that’s the case. Your broomstick lace is beautiful!

  3. Mirela Says:

    Yes, that is exactly what you use the knitting needle for. In the past they used a broomstick to make the loops the same size, hence the name of Broomstick lace🙂
    I did try to take the loops up on the crochet needle, and it would be faster, but I can’t seem to make them the same size.

    If you follow the link in the post, there;s a video tutorial and you can see exactly how the knitting needle is used.

    Enjoy! Did I see your headband on Flickr?😉

  4. Crochet Diva Says:

    Oh, that is interesting about the “broomstick”! I am going to definitely check out that video. Thank you so much! Oh, and I don’t have a flickr account, so that wasn’t me, but I would love to see what headband you are talking about.🙂

  5. Mirela Says:

    No! I saw it on your blog now, I had it confused with other stuff🙂 cool idea for the headband!
    I sometimes search Flickr to see what others are doing, here’s a bunch of broomstick lace stuff:
    http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=broomstick+lace

  6. Crochet Diva Says:

    Oh thanks for the link. I love the look of broomstick lace, but I’m like you, I was discouraged trying it without something to hold the loops. Now that you’ve shared the trick, though, I think I will give it another try.🙂 Is it alright if I add your link to my blog?


  7. […] lace, because people would use a broomstick to hold the loops. Now, I just use a knitting needle. Here is the blog I learned more about using the knitting needle for broomstick lace. There is also a link on that […]

  8. Shirl J. Howell Says:

    I’m trying to find a stitch pattern for the “broomstick lace”
    Would appreciate direction on where to go. Sincerely
    Shirl J.


Leave a Reply

