Back

November 3, 2008

I have been away for a 10 day vacation in Yosemite. Dreamy place. See some of Marius’ photos here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mariusp/sets/72157608485901000/

A long trip from Florida, by plane and driving, so I had time to crochet a warm wool beanie for Marius and start one for myself.
Yarn: Patons Classic Wool: http://www.yarndex.com/yarn.cfm?yarn_id=1731, 1 sheen of light gray, gray and orange but I still have a lot of yarn leftover.
Hook: 4.25mm
Pattern: from garn studio…
Next time I’ll use two yarns together so it will be even warmer.
I still have to go through my photos and select a few of the park, but these are the beanies.
Crochet Beanie

Shhh! He didn’t want his picture published…but I love it, so here he is waering a matching beanie 🙂

Crochet Beanie

The 360 view from 8,122 ft (2,476 m) at Sentinel Dome was breathtaking!!!

Reading BurdaStyle’s blog posts I have stumbled upon this little video about patterns and sewing: http://www.archive.org/details/Patternf1948. Here’s more: http://www.burdastyle.com/blog/show/693

I know I haven’t sewn much lately and I do miss it, but I have crochet a lot in the meanwhile.
I have finished a blue top with shell buttons over a knit bodice and weaved ribbons on crochet cups.
I’ve made two black crochet cups that I’d like to finish with leftover fabric from the Malissa dress.
I have two white crochet cups either for a top or bathing suit…
Some weird crochet jewelry, chokers and earrings.
Many little free forms that I’m trying to connect together and finish with sewn fabric, some flowers and leaves in silver and ivory for a top. I hope I’ll have enough fabric leftovers to finish it. Another holidays project will be out of crochet snowflakes and an iridescent red taffeta. I have also crochet two bibs for tops, for leftovers of the angels silk and a white embroidered cotton. I’m curious to see the outcome, as I’m creating these with no pattern. pictures pending.

5 Responses to “Back”

  1. Marian Says:

    I just saw Marius’s Flicker album. Very nice photos! The fall colors are amazing!

  2. mirela Says:

    Thanks Marian! I forwarded the compliment 🙂 Yosemite is an amazing place to visit.

  3. melissa Says:

    I love the matching beanies! It’s definitely getting to be warm weather here!

    And I’m very interested to hear what you got up to in Yosemite (and if you stayed in the park?) – it’s still a year off and we have no idea what our budget will be, but Yosemite is on our list of possible honeymoon destinations. But I don’t know anyone who’s ever gone there and tourist sites all look the same…

    Oh, and I’m glad you liked my BurdaStyle blog post. 🙂

  4. Teodora Says:

    Wow! I just can’t wait for those “weird crochet jewelry, chokers and earrings” pending photos :))) …also for the rest of your beauties.
    You have such a great vacation, I’m almost jealous ;). Thanks for the photos…

    By the way, another good ideea ( for me is ) to make warmer a hat is to line it with real polar fleece…

  5. mirela Says:

    Thanks Teodora! I will add some fleece lining to the hats that is an excellent idea! crochet thingies photos still pending…


Leave a Reply

