Irasos, written stitches from Kalotaszegi

September 2, 2014

IMG_1814 IMG_1822 IMG_1823 IMG_1824 IMG_1827 IMG_1829

Stitches with cotton over hemp or linen fabric, from the region of Kalotaszegi, or Calata, close to my home town of Cluj.

This is a traditional hungarian/romanian stitch.

I’ve been lucky enough to have amazing Hungarian neighbours, living next door to my mom in Cluj. I’ve got fabric (hemp), yarn (heavy cotton) and a two hour sewing lesson.

Above is a bookmark I started with, sewn on the plane ride home.

There’s a large table cloth in progress, which is almost done. I’ve been sewing it over the last 2 1/5 months…

Leave a Reply

